LET THE RAINS BEGIN!

So….the rain begins last night…run, close the windows on the side of the house where the rain is blowing in…one gutter flowing over the side like a waterfall (no trees anywhere near that one…huh?)…John puts on a raincoat, grabs a ladder and clears it out. He is soaked and my hero. He has fixed a house where the basement leaked for years and is not going to let one gutter ruin that. Love it!

All is quiet and the down pour begins. Resting on the couch, playing games on my phone when not watching the amazing lightning storm and wind-gusting-rain. And then, the unthinkable…wait for it….our 65 pound dog has to go out REALLY BAD! (John is taking an online tax class and can’t rescue me or the dog) So, I brave the weather, he does his business and I think all is right with the world. NOPE!

Oh no, he is pacing again. Put on my soaking wet sneakers, hoodie and run him out again….CRASH ~ FLASH…he bolts for the door! I take off my gear and sit down only I don’t bother to put up the foot rest on the recliner this time. Sure enough…pacing, pacing, pacing. I am afraid this storm has loosened our dog’s grip. I am determined not to go back out. What to do? What to do? Got it! Our 12 pounder (little Sweetie dog) has a tether off the side porch…HOPE IT WORKS!!!! … success! The dogs spends what seems like an eternity outside but what was probably about 7 minutes total. All better! And we have both survived a stormy crisis and I have avoided a clean-up crisis! Woo Hoo!

Leave a Reply

