Another day to relax

So…here we are again.  I had a ton of things I needed to do…work on lesson plans, laundry, cleaning and the like.

I did manage to do the laundry…well, some of it anyway.  I don’t want to offend and I never want to be in an accident without clean underwear.  God forbid!   If they are cutting off my clothes then my underwear would be of little consequence but still I could say I had on clean panties…”What if you are in a car accident?” …mammas words go through your head and the wash is done!

I brought into the house all of the paperwork I have to do for my job…I may taken it for another car ride.  My papers and books have had rides in all kinds of weather: sunny, raining, sleet, hail, snow.  You name it, they have experienced it. And they have been all over New Jersey and parts of Pennsylvania.  Not exactly the world travelers.

I cleaned off the kitchen table so I could get busy and then…”Hey, are you going to the antique store with me?  You did say you would help me bring in the new items and take out some of the old.  Plus, I sell more when you rearrange our spots.”  So, I closed my office door, hopped into the truck and away I went.  I didn’t hear any complaints from the paperwork so it must be okay. Nice thing about paperwork, it never feels neglected.  Good thing because that is one of my bad habits ~neglecting paperwork.

Lots of fun rearranging stuff.  “Hey, now I won’t know if anyone steals things but it looks great! By the way, I moved the cows so people could see into the show case.”  I put so much thought into arranging those plastic cows (they are from the 50’s ~ like kids played with plastic horses, we have some plastic cows for sale).  Anyway, I explained my theory behind the cows and they are now grazing on the show case once again.  They just had to graze a little further over to the left.

Hung up the stain glass windows, moved the depression glass, moved the antique toys (center stage), the ceramic table looks great with the orange glasses and pitcher I put on it along with John F. Kennedy’s book “Words to Remember” (I think I got the name right), grouped the unique cigarette lighters together and put the tools, car paraphernalia on top of the wicker breakfast-in-bed tray.  Maybe someone will take the hint. I wondered around the store and looked at the other booths, chatted with my friend and we left for home.

Here I am.  Sitting at my computer with that paperwork staring at me, beckoning me, crying for attention.  It doesn’t know how strong willed I can be.  Time to go have fun…just my baby and me.

3 thoughts on “Another day to relax

Leave a Reply

