Reality bites

Sent a kid to jail today for something that she said

Sent a kid to jail today, can’t get it out my head.

Sent a kid to jail today cuz chances we can’t take

Sent a kid to jail today, it’s rules for goodness sake.

Sent a kid to jail today with such an aching doubt

Sent a kid to jail today, her mother bailed her out.

Sent a kid to jail today because it was my job

Sent a kid to jail today, protecting others…Ugh!

Cried a lot of tears today doing what I had to do

Sacrificed the one that hurt, even when I knew.

Cried a lot of tears today protecting many others

Still it doesn’t feel right cuz I had ta crush another.

What the hell’d she say it for?

What was she insane?

Sent a kid to jail today, I’ll never be the same.

5 thoughts on “Reality bites

  1. This made me cry. I seem to do that a lot these days. Anyway, you had no choice. Don’t beat yourself up. It was the only thing you could do under the circumstances.

    It is a really great poem! So sorry that it came from a place of such hurt and pain.

  2. Pingback: Featured Artist of the Month: Lisa Smith – My Blog | ROB'S REAL LIFE

Leave a Reply

